There are a number of new laws that went into effect in Delaware this New Year.
Starting today most Delawareans who make minimum wage will get a 50 cent raise per hour.
The Wilmington News Journal reports that those exempt include new hires or those under the age of 18.
When it comes to cash bail the state legislature approved a measure that encourages judges to consider alternatives such ankle monitors or mandatory check-ins.
Cash bail has been criticized for penalizing the poor in efforts by the court to ensure they show up for their appearances.
Low-income seniors will get a break on their prescriptions.
The state has once again made them eligible for a state offset that the legislature funded to the tune of $2 million.
It had been eliminated amid 2017 budget cuts.